New Mexico Press Women Win National Awards

The National Federation of Press Women announced that its New Mexico affiliate had 24 winners in the 2013 national contest. They are:
Rudolfo Anaya, first, children’s books, fiction, for “How Hollyhocks Came to New Mexico,” Rio Grande Books
Lyn Bleiler, Honorable Mention, in Specialty Articles, Environmental, for stories in “EcoSource Guide to Sustainability
Sherri Burr, 2nd, talk show, and 3rd, television interview, both on UPublic TV
Margaret Cheasebro, first, Specialty Articles, Education; 2nd, Specialty Articles, Sports; and honorable mention, Specialty Articles, Business, all for stories in “Majestic Living”
Kathryn Córdova, third, Newsletters, for Taos Historic Museums; and Honorable Mention, community relations campaign
Merilee Dannemann, second, personal blog
Sari Krosinski, Carolyn Gonzales and Jana Fothergill, first, magapapers, “UNM Today”
Melody Groves, second, website videos
Loretta Hall, Honorable Mention, speeches
Leota Harriman, third, photo essay, “The Independent”
Lisa Hase-Jackson, Honorable Mention, poem
Maggie Macnab, first, nonfiction general, for “Design by Nature”, New Riders Press
James McClure and Ezequiel Ortiz, first, nonfiction biography, for “Don Jose, An American Soldier,” Sunstone Press
Slim Randles, first, nonfiction humor, for “Home Country,” Rio Grande Books
Sherry Robinson, first, continuing coverage, and second, Specialty Articles, politics, for stories in the “Gallup Independent
Bud Russo, second, Specialty Articles, Travel, for stories in “Southwest Senior”
Marilyn Stablein, first, graphics in the “Malpais Review”
Karen Wentworth, Honorable Mention, online feature, “UNM Today”
Each of these winners qualified for national competition with first place awards in New Mexico Press Women’s annual communication contest. Awards will be presented at the NFPW convention in Salt Lake City in August.